The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The growth of internet facilities has led to increase in the use of social media. Since the inception of social media networks like Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, Twitter and other various networks, the way we interact in the society has changed. Before social media, people met new individuals through mutual friends, family and colleagues. They interacted face-to face and met in person to have discussions and conversations about topics that interested them. People relied on letters, telegrams to stay in touch with each other. These services were time consuming and expensive. Sometimes, the letters and telegrams would reach the individual often very late. People who graduated school and college lost communication with friends. They had to make new friends to the places they moved to. After the boom of social media and availability of Internet, our way of communication has totally transformed. Individuals were able to get back in contact with their friends and school mates through Facebook. We are able to make friends and acquaintances from any part of the world. There is a chance for better and constant interaction with people from different countries and cultures. But has it taken a toll on our day to day communication? Studies have shown that excess use of social media can lead to anxiety and depression. These symptoms are prone to be common among young people. We are able to communicate with different people but how can we trust someone we have never met in person though the person may seem nice and genuine online. There are instances of catfishing, kidnapping and money laundering through social media. I feel that face to face interaction is much better than having an online friend. We can understand an individual's behavior when we meet them, talk to them and spend time with them whereas interacting on social media is more like interacting with a screen. There is lack of genuinely feelings of emotions.