some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge

World over governments receive money on the taxes paid by individuals as well as the companies. Since the money collected in different form of taxes goes to the government there is always an argument of proper utilisation of the money. And also the people have the right to question the government on the same. This is a common practice world over to spend the money on training individuals to participate in the international sporting events. Sports ministries receive a portion of the budget to spend on all the events and the training programs. Compared to the allocations different ministries receive sports is always vary minimal. I disagree to not spend money on international sporting events and training. when we look at the advantages, sports events unites different kinds of people and bring them on the same platform. This serves to recognise the hidden talent and acts as a motivation to different kinds of people. This can be considered as an investment which benefits people in a different way. For example India previously was playing cricket with different countries with a limited budget and tours. There never used to be any regular events. From late 2000's ever since the Indian Premier League started cricketers from all over the world started to play and participate in the event. The government started receiving more money in the form of taxes as Food, Hotel, travel and aviation sectors have grown. This has helped not only in increasing the revenues to the government but also it showed growth in employment. It has contributed in the economic upliftment of people by way of creating opportunities. Instead of not spending money and limit the scope of growth it is always better to create the opportunities for growth which can be transfered back to general public.