the use of more and more plastics and less biodegradable packaging material we are slowly choking our planet

Waste disposal has become a major problem for all countries across the world. The earth is slowly but steadily becoming a storehouse of garbage. With the use of more and more plastics and less biodegradable packaging material we are slowly choking our planet. In this essay I shall try and highlight the change I have seen in my own lifetime and suggest what the Government can do to make things better When I was a child we used only jute and cotton bags. We carried them from home, bought all the things we needing, put them in the bags and came home. Today people walk into a shop empty handed and pick bring home with then loads and loads single use plastic. Plastics first came into the market when I was a teenager. They became popular because of their strength, light weight and durability. As a result it quickly replaced all other packaging materials. Today because of its non biodegradable property, it has become a bane to civilisations across the world. Our neighbouring country Bangladesh has started experiencing more flooding in their rivers due to plastic The situation was so bad that the country had to ban plastics and revert back to jute. Fortunately most other forms of waste are biodegradable and decay with time. The main challenge comes from plastic waste disposal. I strongly feel that governments should concentrate on collection and recycling of plastic waste. Although it is a more expensive process, it is the only way we can save our beautiful planet and the rich biodiversity which lives on it. Segregation of biodegradable rubbish and dumping it outside the city limits far from human habitation is a good way of waste disposal. Citizens also have an important role to play and everyone should try and leave behind minimal carbon footprints so that out environment is kept clean. Apart from waste collection and proper disposal of all waste Governments should have strict laws to make sure only recycled plastic is used by industries. In this way. I feel we can make this world a better place for our future generations