Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

People have different opinions about whether government should be concerned about the recycling of garbage from households. Many of them are of the belief that government should make it mandatory for people to actively participate. This essay will address, if the only possible option to maximize the recycling of wastage produced is when it becomes officially obligatory and shall provide examples to support this position. Majority of people are not aware of the adverse affects if the garbage is not recycled, hence they do not even thinking about it. Secondly, a lot of them do not know about the different ways how they can even reuse or recycle things which they end up throwing in the dustbin. In several Asian countries, a lot of non-profit organizations conducted a survey which demonstrated that not even 20% of the population was familiar with the importance of recycle, reuse and reduce. As people only pay attention when there are rules or something becomes legally required. Therefore, people think that government should intervene to bring this change. Other possible option could be levying taxes on excessive wastage as done by many western countries. Environmentalists claim that it is extremely vital for higher authorities to take part in such programs as it ultimately works towards diminishing of natural resources. Even though some people agree that recycling should be a part of life, they fail to implement it because doesn't impact their daily lifestyle that much. In my opinion, it is important for government as well as other big organizations to agree with the fact that making it a necessity is the only option to bring change as earliest as possible.