The urban population around the world is increasing at an astonishing rate and this trend has put a strain on social resources.

The urban population around the world is increasing at an astonishing rate and this trend has put a strain on social resources. Some people suggest that public parks in cities should be converted to business or residential areas to meet the growing need for land. I completely disagree with this point of view. Green areas in cities play an important role in maintaining people’s health. To begin with, trees and other plants in public parks can absorb carbon dioxide and other chemicals in the air and this helps to provide better air quality for everyone living / everyone who lives in the city. This improvement can be crucial for those people who are suffering from breathing disorders because of the deteriorating air pollution. Another reason to maintain public parks is that they make a good place for people to exercise and stay fit. Regular exercise helps people build a stronger body, boost their immune system and thus protect them from catching illness. Moreover, gardens and parks can make cities more visually appealing. If our cities were only filled with skyscrapers, residential areas and business districts, our lives would be dull and bored; whereas the trees and flowers can make our lives more colorful and bring people closer to the nature. Finally, I would argue that building residential apartments and business centers is not a real option to address the issues brought by urban expansion. In my opinion, a better solution is that the governments should start to build more satellite centers outside already crowded downtown areas. This would not only provide more employment opportunities in suburban areas and boost economic growth but also relieve the air pollution and traffic problems in cities. To conclude, I strongly believe that public parks in the cities should be reserved as it is beneficial to both citizens and civic landscape. To deal with the growing needs for land use, governments should take other measures such building more suburb centers.