The Unspoken Reality About Technology

Technology is perceived as a vital piece of equipment that we use in our daily lives. But technology can play a role in affecting and controlling the lives of people that use it. This ideology is portrayed through the story “1984” written by George Orwell. This story generally discusses the impacts technology has on people's lives. During the book, the author explores the dangerous effects of technology, where the Oceania government uses advanced systems to monitor its citizen's everyday movements and conversations, for harm and torture, and lastly for the use of limiting people's imagination exemplified by the government of Oceania. To begin with, the Government of Oceania had set up advanced systems all over Oceania. As people were leaving, the telescreens had been monitoring their actions. Winston said the telescreens meant that there were "Always eyes watching you and the voice enveloping you. Asleep or awake, indoors, or out of doors, in the bath or bed-no escape. People were uncomfortable as they were constantly being watched. The party had the power to invent many kinds of technology that was able to track the activities that people were performing. The telescreens captured the actions of people. In addition, the adoption of technology helped gain the power for the party to ensure the supremacy of totalitarianism. But, people saw advanced surveillance cameras as an invasion of their privacy. The government of Oceania saw it as a great invention. Secondly, the government shows misuse of technology by using microphones, which were embedded into the telescreens. The government installed microphones to listen in on conversations that people were having with one another. The government had installed microphones all around Oceania, leaving no area without microphones. “The telescreen received and transmitted simultaneously. Any sound that Winston made, above the level of a very low whisper, would be picked up by it. ” People felt that this was a lack of privacy. They felt that the government was invading their space too much. Ultimately, if that was not enough. The Oceania government had even installed telescreens into every home. As a result, people were forced to stay calm at all times. As well as being forced not to disobey any rules or regulations that were put in place by the government. The Oceania government installed both telescreens, which could serve as both a security camera and a microphone was to control and monitor their people. In the story “1984, ” George Orwell highlights the impacts of technology and how it can negatively influence someone's life. To begin, the Oceania government used telescreens to monitor its peoples' movements. They also used microphones that were embedded into the telescreens to listen in on the discussions people were having with others. Secondly, the government used technology to harm and torture its citizens. They used technology to torture them as a method of discipline. And lastly, technology was used to limit people's imaginations. The versificator was a machine that created and produced things like songs so that the Party member would not have to use any creative thing in the process of making or producing something for the people to enjoy. In conclusion, as we can see from the story “1984, ” the power of technology can dramatically change and damage the lives of people.