Some people believe that individuals and companies should pay for the pollution they cause but it is not the duty of the government. with this opinion?

It is argued that pollution should be addressed by individuals and companies who cause the pollution, but not by the government. In my perspective, I partially agree with this opinion because the government should also take some responsibility. On the one hand, these environmental issues should be tackled by the people who caused the pollution. Pollutions never appear for no reasons; they are caused by human activities. Without human activities, there would be no air pollution, global warming, ocean plastic pollution and etc. These problems no only affect people who cause these issues, but also affect every other individual who lives on the earth. In other words, people who didn’t damage the environment become the victims of deterioration of environment because of others’ irresponsible actions. Therefore, these people who destroyed the environment have obligation to restore the damage they caused. Otherwise, everyone would suffer from the catastrophic consequence of damaging environment. On the other hand, the government have responsibility to address environmental problem. There are always some people who do not fulfil their obligation to protect environment. As the government is the only organization which has capability to setup law and organize large activities, obligations which haven’t been fulfilled by the individuals and companies not only should be attained by the government, but also the government should issue some regulations to force people to save environment. This would deter people from destroying environment like emitting harmful and toxic exhaust into the atmosphere, pouring waste chemical suage into rivers and things like that. In conclusion, both the government and people who cause pollution should have responsibility and obligation to save the environment. In this way, all these problems would be resolved.