The unlimited use of cars may cause many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problem, should we discourage people to use cars?

During this carbon-conscious era, the rapid rise of cars is concerned to result in a range of worrying impacts on social life. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, solutions can be taken to mitigate these potential problems. On the one hand, extensive car use has been bringing about serious complications for the environment and social life. Emission from cars is one of the key contributors to environmental issues such as air contamination, noise pollution. . . These extreme climatic conditions disturb our daily activities. Long-term exposure to air pollution has been associated with a wide range of human health effects including increased respiratory symptoms, hospitalization for heart or lung diseases, and even premature death. Moreover, rising traffic congestion is an inescapable condition in large due to growing personal vehicles. Nowadays, people tend to drive to work rather than walk, cycle or take public transport, which leads to heavy traffic jams almost every day at rush hour. This problem has caused not only negative emotions such as impatience, anger. . . but also work delay and late arrivals. There are several actions that could be taken to solve the problems mentioned above. Firstly, it is important for the government to impose taxes on car production and import. This may raise car prices and discourage potential customers. These tax payments can be used to improve public transport to attract the attention of commuters; reduce the demand of private transport. What is more, car manufacturers should design more environmentally friendly cars, which run on alternative energy such as solar power or hydrogen or renewable sources to replace fossil fuels. This would discharge little carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Finally, campaigns and educational programs should be launched on all media platforms with a view to promoting public awareness about the environmental hazards of car travelling. In conclusion, private cars do have multiple adverse impacts on both social development and environmental well-being. From my perspective, it is imperative to reduce car ownership for the sake of protecting a sustainable environment.