Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Sport events have been ingrained in our societies from ancient times. It lets people represent their countries, display their physical abilities and bond with their fellow competetiors all at the same time. Hosting international sports events goes as far back as ancient greece where olympics began. Such events have always made for a lovely time for the people; not only the participants but the spectators as well. However, some people believe that these huge, international events are a nuisance, a waste of resources better spent elsewhere. They believe that these events achieve nothing but, give young people a chance to boast their physical prowess over others and leave behind rubbish for others to clean. While true, it is also true that these large scale events give countries a chance to boost their economies. These events generate thousands in revenue and employment opportunities for the country they are held in. In my opinion, sports events have been a fantastic way for countries to bond with each other. These events not only create revenue for the country itself, but they also motivate their spectators; especially children, to take part in various sports.