The United States has two main political parties and several others that play little role. Is it true? Is it different from the Vietnamese political system? In what ways?

The distinct historical conditions and different beliefs of the American people have given rise to various political parties formed to promote specific values of each and the candidates who represented them. The United States of America now has a multi-party system. The two powerful parties are the Democratic and Republican Parties. Other parties, such as the Reform, Libertarian, Socialist, and Natural Law parties, make up the Constituent Assembly. A multi-party system is a tool for resolving political conflict in pluralistic public, therefore, becomes part of the democratic apparatus. On the other side of the coin, Viet Nam has a single-party system: the Communist Party of Viet Nam, and the structure of this political system determines by the need for it to govern while at the same time maintaining its contact with the masses of the people. The critical difference between these two systems could be made clear by democracy. In multi-party countries, people believe that democracy could preserve due to the diversity and conflict between parties, and they could choose sides that support their wants and needs. However, the debate sometimes could go awry, and protests or even armed conflicts could happen. Besides, even within a multi-party system, the arguments may become so stymied and a particular coalition of interests so entrenched that the democratic process is seriously compromised. While in single-party countries, the decisions are made by only one party representing the masses’ opinion. When the determination is not satisfied all people within the country, therefore, these people must accept and implement, the democracy could infringe. Nevertheless, a single-party system could easily unify opinions to build and develop the country in a specific direction and make quick decisions when crucial situations happen.