'The UK's top police officer has blamed social media for normalising violence and leading more children to commit stabbings and murders? (Source: BBC) Does social media contribute to violent behaviour and should it be more strictly regulated?

When we look at the present generation, the influence of social media and social interaction can never be overlooked. From children to adults, almost everyone spends a significant portion of their time using such applications and thus are highly influenced by it. However, what social media presents might not always be the best thing for us and the negativity in it may lead people down the wrong path Therefore. I do believe that social media contributes to violent behaviour and needs to be managed in a stricter way. Despite the numerous benefits and advantages of social media, there are still some negative aspects to it. One of the major problems is that it promotes violence and makes people more aggressive. We can see countless reports of cyber crime and other unlawful activities on social media. Experiences like these usually have detrimental effects on the users and give them the wrong idea. Thus, exposure to violence and crimes can never be a good thing and the content on these social media applications should be regulated more sternly. A study conducted by the Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) showed that there was a 37% increase in crimes committed by teenagers after the growth of social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Seeing this, we should now pay more attention to the root problem of these crimes and monitor childrens' activities so that we can ensure a safer and peaceful community. Contrarily, many users argue that these applications are not what's causing these crimes. We see positive and negative things all around us, and in the end it is up to the individual to decide which path he/she wants to take. It would be rather illogical to blame social media for people's actions and better outcomes can be achieved if we dedicate our time and resources towards educating children on these issues and guide them properly. To conclude, even though most people should be able to choose for themselves and differentiate between right and wrong, it would be best if initiatives were taken to make social media a non-violent and conflict-free platform.