The ubiquity of social networking sites has sharply gone up by virtue of three main reasons.

The ubiquity of social networking sites has sharply gone up by virtue of three main reasons. Firstly, social networking gives people an opportunity to globally connect with everyone. These sites permit unprecedented ability to communicate at high speed in many different forms, across huge distances. To illustrate, when the complicated situation of Covid-19 pandemic has made it impossible for people to have face to face communication, the ability to contact friends on the other side of the world allows for the maintenance of cross-border friendships. Secondly, The rapid development of social networking sites play a prominent role in expanding business networks. Currently, There are lots of renowned companies using social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and so on to interact with their customers. It is exemplified by Dove’s “Show us” campaign to eliminate stereotypes about beauty. With 5, 000 images in its photo library and over 650, 000 uses of hashtags on Instagram, the campaign became an internet craze, helping Dove impress millions of customers around the world. Last but not least, social networking sites are straightforward to use, because most of these platforms are designed to be utterly user-friendly. Take Tik Tok as an example, users even do not need to register for an account, but they can still watch and download videos on this platform. In conclusion, The development of social networking sites can be traced back to three major elements above.