The two pictures describe the growth which took place in a coastal region called Portland between 1950 and 2007.

The two pictures describe the growth which took place in a coastal region called Portland between 1950 and 2007. Overall, it is clear that the area of grassland in 1950 was cleared to make way for new developments in 2007. Besides, new roads were built to join the main road over the period. In 1950, grassland was in the south of Portland. However, in 2007, this area was converted into a cinema and a row of shops on the west of the main road, and by another row of shops and two rows of accommodations on the east side of the main road. In addition, smaller roads connected developments to the existing main road. The industrial area in the northwest of the town in 1950 was replaced by a large park and an adjacent with a swimming pool in 2007. There was also a new multi-storey car park next to the swimming pool, replacing the car park located in the north-east of the town in 1950. Moreover, the main road was extended to connect to a new yacht marina, and new apartments, overlooking the marina in 2007.