People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, and not enough time on more serious duties and obligations.

Some people argue that people must stop spending money on irrelevant enjoyment and rather do things they should do. However, in my opinion, ]I mostly disagree with the statement for the following three reasons. First of all, people now work more hours at their jobs than they used to. It is of a natural inclination to deviate from work and explore other fun engagements. For example, a software engineer at a tech company works 5 days a week for ten hours a day, more than what people back in the day were doing. They tend to enjoy more on the weekends by spending money lavishly and enjoy fun entertainment every weekend. They tend to overcome work pressure and workplace competition by taking time off for some fun. Considering it is very less time off than to the time they work, spending on personal enjoyment is not as bad as it seems. Secondly, technological advancements make humans to keep updating their surrounding with new advanced products. Traditional devices are being replaced by modern tech in every item in daily use. For example, television is being updated every year and newer versions of gadgets are being released each day. It is of human nature to replace old trite machines with new and improved products. Thus, technology plays a significant part in why people spend much time in personal enjoyment. Finally, humans are jealous of each other and always try to get one over their people. For example, people tend to surpass other people in terms of luxury goods to show off and look at people in condescending ways by showing off materialistic wealth. For instance, neighbors tend to purchase luxury goods which may help them acquire a high social status. People who do not have cars, for example, are looked at a different way than with people who have them. Thus, competition and jealous make people spend more on personal stuff. To conclude, although people must not spend money recklessly, the above three reasons imply why people spend money on personal stuff.