The trend of purchasing items with a well-known label is a major topic of concern in today's society. This happens because people often associate a famous brand with quality, and sometimes because

The trend of purchasing items with a well-known label is a major topic of concern in today's society. This happens because people often associate a famous brand with quality, and sometimes because most of their peers are using the same products. As far as this is concerned, the positive aspects are more significant than the negative ones. Popular brand names often attract a great number of customers. This is primarily because products with major brands are often of great quality and reliability. In today's world, negative feedback can be spread so fast that these brands have to try their best not incur any criticism which can ruin their reputation. In addition to this, some people purchase items with a well-known name because they want to be a member of the society of people using that product. Apple, for example, has successfully built a community of hundreds of millions of users of the iOS operating system. The consequence of this is that new smartphone users are likely to choose an Apple one so that they have access to the aforementioned community, which means they can communicate and interact with other Apple product users effectively. Overall, this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks to society. The only disadvantage that is worth mentioning is that companies that own famous brands may become monopolistic, which may be disadvantageous for consumers in the long term because these companies may lose the motivation to improve themselves. Laws and governmental policies, however, are now readily available to prevent any company from reaching the state of monopoly, so this disadvantage may be out of the question. This trend is of greater benefit, in a sense that buyers of a product with a well-known name are assured of product quality. These people, as a result, are less likely to worry about the chance of buying a low-quality item. When they buy more products with popular brand names, they may eventually attain the state of having all of their possessions up to a modern perception of what is a good product. In conclusion, the two most prominent reasons as to why people purchase products from famous companies are product quality assurance and the desire to be a part of a community owning and using the same range of items. This development is positive to society at large, despite the only drawback being the chance it may turn a company into a monopolistic one. I predict that this trend will continue into the future, and consumers may thrive in a society where the quality of every single product is standardized, which is guaranteed by its brand name.