The traffic situation in Dhaka is deteriorating. To improve this situation, rickshaws should be banned.

Dhaka city faces a lot of traffic congestions, and this problem is becoming worse with every passing day; hence, a rickshaw ban has been suggested to help improve this situation. However, I am strongly opposed to the rickshaw ban as I feel that the main reasons behind the traffic congestions are poor management and lack of traffic regulations. Firstly, the rickshaw is very efficient for short distance commute. These three wheelers are available at almost every residential area at affordable fares, and these are very popular among commuters. In fact, even car users tend to take advantage of rickshaws when they go out for short distance visits, as the traffic situation of the city is so bad that they would have wasted a lot of time stuck in traffic. Secondly, Dhaka is an overpopulated megacity, which is full of small narrow roads. To make matters worse, there is a lack of parking space, so many cars just park on the side of the street, causing traffic jams. Therefore, rickshaws are a better choice for travelling in these places as their compact shape allows them to navigate these places easily. On the other hand, proponents of the rickshaw ban believe that banning these vehicles will improve traffic conditions. However, I would argue that the main reason of traffic in Dhaka city is poor road management and policy. To illustrate, this city has exceeded its capacity for motor vehicles, yet a certain demographic tends to buy large cars, which is the main cause of traffic. In addition, rickshaws are not even allowed on the main roads, yet we can see a lot of traffic in these places due to the overuse of motor vehicles. Hence, banning the rickshaw will not have much effect. To conclude, banning the rickshaw will not have a positive effect as most commuters rely on it for short distance transport. Therefore, I would recommend the authorities to look at alternative solutions, such as reducing the number of motor vehicles in the city.