The traditional idea of working for the same company for life in one particular place is changing. Today people work for different companies, in different jobs and in different ways. Unfortunately, this also leads to job insecurity and uncertainty about the future.

In the past, people worked for the same company or had only one job for life, but this concept is out-of-date. It is relatively common now for people to work for different companies and do diversified jobs. From the author’s point of view, having multiple working experiences does not represent job insecurity and uncertainty about the future. By contrast, it brings people more chances to enrich their life. People shifting jobs have many positive impacts on grasping well-developed careers or better packages. They do not have to be constrained in the same position for a company which is not suitable for them. Being committed in multiple positions has at least three plus points. First of all, the working pattern helps them broaden their horizons. Secondly, they adjust to their new surroundings quickly and have more chances to build up new contacts and connections. Finally, they can improve and acquire their work professional skills and knowledge continuously by working in different kinds of positions. In spite of these advantages, there are a few disadvantages of hopping to different organizations. For one thing, as the individuals change their jobs, they have to spend more time on learning the new assignments and establish a new network in the new company. Both of which are harder than always working in the same company. What’s worse, compared with people with guaranteed permanent employment, such as the civil servants, people switching jobs frequently have more uncertainties. For example, because their working years are fewer than the years of seniors, they have much higher opportunities for being fired or getting non-paid furlough by their companies under the economic recessions. To sum up, although working for different organizations has some pros and cons. Nevertheless, those benefits still outweigh their drawbacks, the author still encourages people to try to do different jobs. Therefore, one should not be afraid of insecurity and uncertainty by changing jobs. Instead, they should foster the courage to leave the comfort zone and create more probability in the future.