The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages.

The right usage of nuclear energy has been a topic of squabble over the past centuries. It is an undeniable fact that nuclear technology has numerous advantages. However, I believe the disadvantages overshadow the benefits. The principal advantage of nuclear technology is that Uranium, the primary element used in nuclear fusion and fission, is easily available and is affordable. In addition to that, nuclear energy can be converted into various other forms of energy. For example, Kaiga, a nuclear powerplant near Karwar, plays a vital role in the electricity supply to the in and around regions. Even though the fear of monstrous nuclear weapons may have contributed to maintaining global peace, however, this comes with innumerable drawbacks. Nuclear power stations cannot function in the cities as the emitted fumes and gases are carcinogenic, as a result of which nuclear energy stations have to be constructed away from the residential areas. This would require the clearance of massive forests which will eventually result in deforestation. The emitted radiations are extremely powerful and dangerous and travel up to kilometers thereby, affecting the surrounding flora and fauna. For example, Hiroshima and Nagasaki experienced a brutal nuclear attack in the mid 1900s and its effects exist till the present day. A survey conducted by a University in 2016 shows that 26% of newborn children in Nagasaki are born with genetic mutations and organ disorders. To conclude, nuclear technology has various benefits as well as drawbacks. However, the disadvantages outnumber the advantages. Nuclear technology should be utilized with high rationalism whereas being otherwise might wipe out the existence of any kind of like from the face of the earth.