In the modern era, computers and electronic devices have predominantly occupied children’s world.

In the modern era, computers and electronic devices have predominantly occupied children’s world. While I agree they bring the convenience and the efficiency to the life, however, the skill of handwriting shall not be undervalued and it is critical to possess the handwriting skill in the modern world. To begin with, hand writing skill is a fundamental and one of the basic ways of communication. Studies show that writing improves memory, especially for children that are undergoing the learning process. Evidently children retain learning significantly better. Next, though hand writing is trivial, handwriting is a basic tool used in many circumstances; taking notes, signature, and taking tests. These are few of several situations where the handwriting is still required and cannot be replaced easily. Finally, handwriting with a pen and paper still has an important role from early childhood through our adult lives. Even there is a shift from paper to electronic modes of communication, interesting though, many software applications and electronic devices have integrated handwriting recognition capability, so that handwriting as a means of interacting with computers is becoming more pervasive. Hence, evidently handwriting skill cannot be abandoned despite the revolution of electronics in the modern world. In conclusion, even though human society has evolved to enable various modes of communication, ultimately, in my opinion, handwriting is still the fundamental and one of the most versatile ways to communicate. Therefore, I disagree that it is unnecessary to teach children the skill of handwriting.