The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far overweigh the disadvantages.

Nuclear weapons were developed in the second world war. Since then, for countries who have nuclear weapons, seize the opportunity to threaten others as the damages caused by atomic bombs are fatal. Some people believe that the threat of nuclear weapons helps the world remain peaceful and the nuclear power generated is cheap and environmentally friendly. However, considering the risk involved, I strongly disagree that the positive side is far outstrip than the detrimental effects but instead vice versa. First of all, the potential danger of a nuclear power station can never be underestimated. Uranium, the element that is used to generate power, is radioactive. During fission, it releases carcinogenic radiations which burn your skin or causes cancer. You will no longer exist in a few hours if you touch those nuclear wastes. Furthermore, nature and the society would also be greatly damaged if the nuclear power plants went out of control. Millions, or even billions, of people will get killed. Major food chains, water would all be polluted. Hence, although nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy, you would definitely not be willing to experience the tragedy - Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant again. Despite presenting advantages to countries owning it, a nuclear weapon can be ground off disagreement and conflict. For instance, North Korea, which has demonstrated its achievements in developing nuclear weapons. Even though this can scare off a country’s enemies and prevent potential attacks, it will definitely trigger a negative reaction in many peace-loving countries across the globe. This could cause confidence or trade of crises and damages the economical aspect. As a result, exploiting nuclear weapons would not be a good idea for those developing countries. In conclusion, difficult to handle, exploiting nuclear energy can result in human extinction. Therefore, I firmly believe that the negative impacts of using this type of energy source are far more.