The tendency of media to focus on negative and emergencies instead of positive news has negative impact to society

It is important for news outlet to be able to provide information in a timely and clear manner. However, most companies tend to centralize their message on issues and emergencies instead of positive news. This way of reporting might lead to negative impact to the people that watch it. Personally, I agree with this statement and I will explain my reasoning in the following paragraphs. Firstly, people will become easily paranoid. When average citizens are being fed with constant stream of bad news, this might change their way of thinking which could lead to people easily feeling panic upon hearing certain news. For instance, when the coronavirus were only in China the media outlets did not report about this daily. However, when the virus already entered Australia, the media kept on reporting on it everyday, even if there was nothing new to be reported. The way the media crafted the news reporting could cause panic in the society, since it was kept on being reported. As a consequence, this led to panic buying in Australia, where people were purchasing grocery excessively and it caused shortage nationwide. Due to the media's focus on problems, this led people feeling panic. Secondly, the anxiousness could cause the economy to suffer. In the previous paragraph, I already highlighted how people could become paranoid due to the news. This shows that society's feeling can be influenced quickly by the media. If the media, for instance, gives information constantly about random stabbing or crimes in a certain area, this could cause people to not wanting to visit the cafes or restaurants or small business around that area. The decrease of customer visits could cause the businesses to go bankrupt which in turn make the economy suffer. The income of the local businesses is lost due to news that focuses on emergencies. In conclusion, the media hold a significant power and they could affect the perception of the society easily. If they are being served with news which centralizes its message on problems and emergencies, this might cause panic and anxiety which might also negatively impact the economy.