the teenage years are the happiest time of most people's lives.

It is often argued that the most fulling stage of a person't life is during adolescence, while others believe that adulthood, despite things like a job, family and money concerns, is better. This essay agrees with the former, rather than the latter view. It will first discuss how grown-ups are much less fulfilled than teenagers because of the pressures they are under and then discuss how contented most teenagers are, before coming to the conclusion that the ages of thirteen to eighteen really are the best year of our lives. Upon reaching maturity people are expected to fend for themselves and this often leads to unhappiness. This is because most adults have rent and bills to pay, as well as a partner and dependent to look after, which more often that not, leads to them doing a job they don't enjoy in exchange for money. A recent study by Queen's university, Belfast found that 79% of people would leave their jobs if they didn't have a mortgage and 64% of people stated that their job made them depressed at some point. In conclusion, youth really is wasted on the young because older people are under much more strain when it comes to money and people relying on them.