The success of any organization depends on several factors but the contribution from its managers is very important. This paper is aimed at providing a discussion of how a manager carries out his daily responsibilities. An interview was conducted on Muriel Agnes, the Human Resource Manager at Green Eye Corporation. This is a small organization with a total of 102 employees. It’s mainly involved in environmental awareness activities.

Ms Agnes has been in the company for a period of three years and she is currently on her fourth year. She began as an intern at the company in 2007 while undertaking her Master’s degree at the University of Kansas and was retained upon completion of her internship because of her good organizational skills. She progressed in her career until the 2009 when she was officially appointed the human resource manager, a position she still holds to date. There are three main responsibilities that Ms Agnes is involved in. To begin with, she is responsible for the recruitment of new employees in the company. This recruitment should be timely so that the organizations operations do not stall (Harris 21). In line with recruitment, she is also in charge of employee retention and ensures that they deliver the best services. Considering that the company invests heavily in the recruitment procedure, she is supposed to ensure that no errors are made when recruiting employees and this makes the procedure more tasking. Every individual interested in working for the company has unique talent, skills and educational background that could be beneficial to the organization. It is upon the human resource manager to identify which applicant has the best quality needed by the company. The second most important responsibility of a HR manager is organizational development. The organization has employees from different backgrounds but once they join the company, they are supposed to work as a team. The HR manager therefore has to ensure that this is achieved. Maintaining a good organizational culture is a key task. For this to be achieved, there has to be a congenial atmosphere at the work place where employees’ growth is also promoted and they are made to feel like they are worthy and useful members of the company. It also involves the existence of proper communication between the managers and employee and amongst the employees