“The Story of an Hour” by Kate Chopin was written more than a century ago when women lived very restricted lives. In your opinion, what is the theme of the story? Is the theme still relevant in today’s society? Why/Why not? Explain your answer with details from the story.

"The story of an hour" is a short story by Kate Chopin more than a century ago. This story revolves around a woman-Ms. Mallard when she hears the news of her husband's death. In this story, “women in the 19th century” is the most important and profound theme. In my opinion, this theme is no longer relevant in today’s society. In the 19th century, women were routinely subjected to repression and discrimination. Demure, gentle, and passive they were expected to be, but this was sometimes contrary to women's inner wishes. In other words, women at that time depend on their husband. Women were supposed to stay home and take care of their families, while husbands were free to travel the world on their own, work and make crucial decisions for their families. Louise Mallard especially thinks that her life is being controlled by her husband's will. However, this theme is no longer relevant in today’s society. The more advanced society becomes, the more civilized and modern people's thoughts become. Besides, the border between men and women is no longer as rigid as it was in the past. Today, women can also be financially and socially independent without men. In addition, they have the right to express their feelings without fear of being oppressed or imposed by society. To sum up, in this story, “women in the 19th century” is the most significant and profound theme to be explored. At that time, women had to depend on their husbands, and their feelings were suppressed by society. However, not only is this problem no longer relevant in today's culture, but also men and women are equal in any respect.