The status of women in modern time has improved much. This is largely attributable to the recent changes in the role of male and female.

Change, an inevitable universal phnomenon, is vividly noticeble now in the area related to gender too. While in the progreesing nation of the best, there is an apparent change in the roles of males and females play. But it is sadly slow in the east. This eassay is an attempt to explain how the quality of life of women has improved in tbe past and to evaluate the change of traditional role of men during the last two decade. Traditionally, women were the keepers of house and mostly involed in house activities and rearing of child only. However, as the time passes, the status of wonen in modern society has changed radically. They become self-sufficient, well aware and financially independent. In contrast, in earlier, men were only considered as the breadwinner of family and did not involve in household choras and raising of children. But, as both the partners start earn to run a family. Men also began to keen interest in household chorus as they would help their wives in cooking and also share the responsibilitiy of child. Therefore, with the encourgement of co-education, there are more awareness among the equality the both spouse. From the last decade, the feminist movement gained popularity. As the result of it, both structural and cultural provide equal opportunities to women in education, employment and political partivipation. They also acheive immense success to prove themselves. For instance, the women of last two decade mostly engaged in the profession of teaching only, but now, as the society develops enormously, the women of 21st century walking side by side of men in every march of life by giving their best in the field of engineering, pilot, sports, soldier and poltical leader which were the male dominent sector of society. However, men has been also influenced by the female dominent sectors and started providing their services in teching, nursing, cooking and art and craft to remove the boundaries of gender in profession. In conclusion, it cab be said that, both male and female, plays a crucial role in society. They both are equal and have a right to live their life as they want to. Our society also came to know about the bad impacts of gender inequalties and also trying to overcome this. But, in some underdeveloped countries, there is still a long way to go.