2. The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The ‘correct’ method of teaching is a topic that has been debated on for centuries. With every decade, a new methodology of tutoring is founded and claimed to better than all it’s predecessors. However, there is no consensus available on the optimal way of tutoring till date. The prompt asserts that the technique of prasing the positive actions and ignoring the negative ones is the most suitable way of teaching. This essay will attempt to discuss the adverse effects such a technique may have on the students and the society. Teaching is often regarded as a highly estimable profession owing to it’s potential of shaping the thoughts and behavior of an entire generation. While rewarding students for their achievements is an important aspect of mentoring, not paying heed to their mistakes can have disastrous effects. By doing so, the tutor will be encouraging the students to not work on improving or correcting their mistakes, rather constantly dwell on their triumphs. Those who do not concentrate on bettering their mistakes will never have complete mastery over the skill that they are learning. For instance, students of music who do not correct their intonations can never be regarded as true proficients of the field. Thus, this form of educating may result in people having inadequate skill. Besides hindering the skill development of the students, this can also create a false sense of expertise in them and therefore make them overconfident in their field of work. The faults of these overconfident employees can affect the functioning of an entire organisation and this is especially concerning if the organisation is part of an industry that directly affects human life like medicine. Hence, albeit having certain good effects on a student’s mindset, positive reinforcement can be disadvantageous if equal importance is not given to identifying mistakes or negative actions and correcting them.