The schematic provides an overview of the key stages in power production in a nuclear power plant.

The schematic provides an overview of the key stages in power production in a nuclear power plant. The process can be divided into two main parts: the generation of power from nuclear fuel and a water cooling system to prevent a meltdown. To start, the nuclear reaction takes place inside a containment building in order to prevent the leakage of radioactive material. The process begins when uranium fuel is passed through two generators, producing steam. Next, the steam is forced under pressure down pipes to a turbine, which it spins. This spinning produces power in a generator, which then passes through a transformer, converting it to a voltage suitable for the power grid. Lastly, the power is distributed to local infrastructure, such as residential and commercial buildings. During the electricity production process, there is a risk that the turbine will overheat, so there is a cooling system included in the design. Firstly, a nearby external water source is connected to the turbine via pipes, allowing cold water to pass around it and keep its temperature within a desirable range. Finally, the steam produced by this cooling is released into the atmosphere though large cooling towers.