The role played by the law enforcement is unparalleled and indispensable in maintaining peace and social stability of a country.

The role played by the law enforcement is unparalleled and indispensable in maintaining peace and social stability of a country. Consequently, many believe that deploying more police force in streets can reduce crime rates, in the wake of proliferating crimes which are getting uncontrollable for many countries these days. I support this view to a great extent since the fear of police can dissuade people from criminal activities. To embark on, there are a myriad of reasons why increasing police force can contribute to lowering crime rates. First of all, the majority of unlawful activities are meticulously planned; moreover, these are executed in locations or areas where the reach of law enforcement is weaker. Needless to say, the scarcity of police force is the is the trigger for many criminal activities, as there is less supervision or surveillance to detect and prevent crimes. Therefore, deploying more law enforcement officers in crime-infested areas can cause the crime rates to plummet. Rio De Janeiro, for instance, was infested with criminals and transgressions 10 years ago. However, as part of the government’s initiative to reduce crimes, more police force was deployed there and this miraculously culminated in bringing peace to the city. On the other hand, increasing police patrolling to circumscribe criminals can be counter intuitive in some cases. The reduction of crime rates is also dependent on the integrity of police force there. In many countries criminal activities are often backed by the local law enforcement officers. Therefore, in such scenarios increasing the number of police officers will not have any significant impact on curtailing crimes. In conclusion, as police force is indispensable for maintaining law and order, increasing police patrolling/presence can have a remarkable impact on reducing crimes. However, for this measure to be effective, it is also important to safeguard the credibility and integrity of police by eliminating corruption among the force itself.