Some people think that poverty is the reason behind most crimes. Do you agree or disagree ?

The latest trends show that more and more poor people are getting trapped in the vicious circle of crime. For this reason, some believe that poverty is the motivation behind this indulgence. I agree with this view. However, I do believe that factors, such as lack of education, drug addictions etc. , are equally important. First of all, poor people do not possess any assets or source of income. They are unable to afford basic necessities such as food, etc. This scarcity often becomes the motivation to follow the wrong path to earn money. A survey shows that 56% of the population of the world are poor and they hardly meet their ends. As an example, a man who needs to buy medicine for his wife, but he could not because of inadequacy of funds, is very likely to steal them from the medicine shop or might pickpocket some wealth from others. On the other hand, factors such as lack of education, narcotic addictions, friends influence etc. , are very important. Education helps a person to make the right choices in life and opens the door to multiple job opportunities. An uneducated person cannot differentiate between right and wrong because they cannot assess the damage one wrong decision can do in the long run. So, they might commit offences without thinking about the impact. Another reason is drug addiction. If an addicted person runs out of funds to buy drugs, then to get funds for drugs they start committing crimes. For example, recently a man from Punjab, had kidnapped a 4 year old boy for ransom, to pay for his drugs. To conclude, poverty is one of the many reasons that leads to crimes. There are multiple other motivations such as lack of education, drug addiction etc. , for committing a crime.