The role of being a father is currently undergoing a great transformation. Consider the extent that fatherhood has changed in recent years in your country.

In recent years, parents have had to adapt to several noticeable alterations in parental responsibilities, especially the role of the father in a family. This, as a result, leads to substantial contrasts between the past and present, besides some resemblances remain. First of all, there are some dramatic shifts in the role of fathers with regard to financial obligations. It is obvious fathers between the two times can be breadwinners and shoulder the family’s financial duties. However, while fathers in the past acted as main earners, fathers in modern society can share that burden with their partners. With the rising cost of living as well as personal income, couples reserve the right and duty to support each other or to decide who works and who stays at home depending on the shared preference. Moreover, fatherhood has also undergone a noticeable transformation regarding the duty of performing domestic responsibilities. Since equal rights movements have made significant headway, women gaining qualifications and pursuing a career becomes socially acceptable. In other words, it has been the norm that men stay at home and look after their children whereas in the past only women would be in charge of that task. In conclusion, the evolution of fatherhood has resulted in some notable differences between the past and present. From my perspective, this is a progressive shift that allows couples to support and share equal parental obligations so that their married life would be better.