Coating from metal matrix composite

Ni alloy-WC metal matrix composite (MMC) coatings are widely used in various fields of industry and technology to protect the working surfaces of parts from corrosion and wear, which is primarily due to the unique properties of nickel itself and the excellent properties of tungsten carbide as a hardening phase, as well as their good compatibility - WC is well wetted by nickel alloy melts [1]. Ni alloys possess high strength and toughness along with a resistance to corrosion and wear in a wide range, which is mainly predetermined by the alloying system [2]. WC possesses a high melting point (2600–2850 °C), high fracture toughness (28 MPa∙m1/2) and high hardness (16 - 22 GPa) [3]. It is widely recognized as well that cemented tungsten carbide, which is usually used in coatings, has some degree of plasticity, especially when compressive loads are applied [4]. Moreover, it is showed that at the later deformation stage dislocations’ density of WC in cermets dominates, indicating a more important WC role in the plasticity than a role of a metal binder [5]. This gives an advantage to WC over brittle hard materials.