The rising levels of congestion and air polution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more.

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the effects of the increasing number of private vehicles on traffic circulation and air quality in most metropolitan areas. Some argue authority must adopt policies to encourage people to travel by public transport more regularly. I myself totally advocate this point of view. To begin with, the using of public vehicles is highly conducive to the environment. Lowering the number of private cars on the roads also means cutting down on the number of toxic substances exhausted into the air such as carbon dioxide and fume since public vehicle gives off less smog than ten or twenty private cars. Moreover, travelling by public transport can greatly reduce the consumption of fossil fuels – a culprit of air pollution, which in turn improves air quality. Take Singapore as an example, the majority of its citizens opt for public transport to commute, which is why Singapore is one of the cleanest nations in the world. Another justification why public transport should be widely used is that it helps alleviate traffic jams and reduce accidents. As more people make use of public transport, there will be fewer people on the roads, which can immensely reduce the intensity of road congestions, especially during the rush hours. Moreover, since public vehicles have their own lanes, the possibility of having accidents is also lower. For example, the underground is popular in many developed countries due to its safety, speediness and the low chance of being late and having accidents. Inconclusion, it is beneficial for both individuals and society to commute by public transport and the authority should make more efforts to raising the number of people using public vehicles.