The rise of TikTok and other social media platforms provide a favorable environment for digital artists and content creators. Some people believe there is harmful and potentially dangerous content on them, which may lead to undesirable accidents if followed. Do you think there should be a law limiting the accessibility of these platforms, or such a law would be a severe violation of freedom of speech and human rights?

It is undeniable that the covid-19 pandemic has affected negatively on many aspects of life, regardless of ages. However, stucking in Covid-19 does not seem to be that bad when people tend to idle away the hour by scrolling down instagram or facebook posts, and of course Tiktok videos from amazing content creators all around the world. The question is, does it always be “positive and healthy”? as some skeptical about Tiktok and other social media platforms are likely to become a two-sword knife, saying that following hazard contents may lead to detrimental and unforeseenable consequences. I’m Huong and today we’re going to discuss about whether this concerning issue should be regulated by law in order to prevent the approachability or not? Let’s find out. First of all, we’re all know what social media is and how it thrives significantly these days. For example, according to IPG Media Lab, the short video app which created by Chinese software company ByteDance; Tiktok, has been downloaded over 1 billion times globally, stayed on top of the “most downloaded iOS app” chart for five consecutive quarters in 2019. So what brings people to become so obsessed with Tiktok? The answer is “Tiktok satisfies our insatiable need for social capital and interstitial media and provides the meaningful connections that social media promises to offer”. It demonstrates clearly that the Maslow hierarchy of need, everybody desires the most if “self-actualization- achieving one’s full potential, including creative activities”. Even if you're more of a lurker than a creator, keeping up with pop culture and being the first in your social network to find and share intriguing stuff can help you build social capital. “Too much of a good thing is harmful”. Apart from all benefits that make the lives of billions of people less dull, the dark, toxic side will always come along. It does not come as a surprise that dangerous challenge or content which is considered as offensive and uncanny receive many criticism or worse, are likely to be lethal. For example, a 9-year-old boy named La Terius Smith Jr. passed away on June, 2021 in Memphis, Tennessee by committing suicide in his bedroom with a belt around his neck. His family discovered that he was trying to do a challenge called “Blackout Challenge”, which encourage users to try and pass out by restricting airflow, claiming it creates a high afterwards. Nevertheless, his death is not the first case of harmful effect caused by Tiktok either, according to CNN there was 2 accidents related to the “electronic socket and penny challenge” in Massachusetts. One causing fire at Westford Academy and forcing it to evacuate all students and teachers. In Vietnam, a male Tiktoker in Sapa died while recording his challenge video on a rooftop. It is reported that this unfortunate man stepped on a hole of a metal roofing and fell on the ground approximately at a height of 10 meters. What a shame that in order to get online famous with millions of views, people tend to risk it all. Sadly, the people i’m talking here is children and adolesence - who does not have full-awareness and concious of what they do and how their corollaries can affect others. How to prevent undesirable accidents from happening again? Well, Tiktok and other social medias have measure for any negative behavior in their ecosystem by using algorithms and artificial intelligence to detect whether one video violates the public principle or not. In addition, users can be a great assistants by allowing them to report unhealthy contents with just a tap. This is what call “survival of the fittest”. Government and authorities do not stand aside in this controversial matter. The US government believes that Tiktok should be controlled because it can leak their citizen’s personal data and threaten national security - the same reason why India banned Tiktok a year ago. However, in my opinion there should be a law to restrict not only the accessibility of these platforms or creators which may lead to from privacy problem to toxic and distorted videos, but also conformity with basic human rights and the freedom of speech. To sum up, i think that a law is essential to create a friendly and better social media platforms as long as there is goodwill among parties.