The Republic of Cyprus is a island country in the Mediterranean Sea and member state of the European Union.

The Republic of Cyprus is a island country in the Mediterranean Sea and member state of the European Union. Cyprus is in Asia, but it is often associated with Europe because of the culture and history of the people. It is also closer to Africa than to Europe. The capital is Nicosia. Most of the population speaks Greek and Turkish. Cyprus is a popular tourist destination in Europe. In 2019, 4 million tourists visited the country. It is estimated, that Cyprus earned 2. 7 million euros in that year. [4] Tourism is very important to the country, as tourism made up 23% of its economy in 2020. [5] Contents 1 History 2 Geography 3 Politics 4 Districts 5 Cities 6 Related pages 7 References 8 Other websites History Mycenaeans of Ancient Greece were the first inhabitants of the island. Archaeological evidence shows that Greek settlement began in c. 1400 BC. [6] It represents the first advanced and distinctively Greek civilization in mainland Greece with its palatial states, urban organization, works of art, and writing system. Cyprus is the only place outside England where an English royal wedding took place. That was the wedding of Richard I and Berengaria of Navarre on 12 May 1191. [7][8] Cyprus gained independence from the British Empire in 1960. The UK, Turkey and Greece became guarantor powers of the island. In July 1974, Turkey invaded Cyprus. Since then the northern part of the island has been under Turkish occupation. The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus became de facto independent in 1983 but it is recognised only by Turkey. When entering by aeroplane, a short stop is made at an airport in mainland Turkey. The present situation with the island split came about because Cyprus, historically Greek, was conquered and became part of the Ottoman Empire from 1570–1914. The British administered it from 1878 until 1960. Likewise, Greece had been part of the Ottoman Empire for several centuries. Negotiations for a unified island have been held several times without success. In 2004, Cyprus joined the European Union. On 1 January 2008 Cyprus adopted the Euro, the single European currency. [9] Although the official currency of Northern Cyprus is the Turkish Lira, many shops accept Euros and British pounds. [10][11]