The quality of life is decreasing in big cities. Mention the causes and solutions for this problem.

The global phenomenon of urbanization has led to a decrease in quality of life. Though several reasons can be attributed to this, the primary causes are that the people are experiencing more stressful lives due to work. Traffic woes also add to this menace significantly. There are fairly simple remedies to this, which includes flexible working hours and improved transportation systems. A majority of the people are not content with their lifestyle in the metropolitan areas these days. Because of the constant rise in the number of people migrating to major cities for jobs, the competition in the employment sector is ever increasing. As a direct result of this, people are under tremendous pressure to be ahead of others in this race. The poor road transportation system only makes this matter worse. For instance, although the people working in the I. T domain are highly paid, the job pressure and the commute time to office due to increased traffic are creating anxiety and heart related issues for them. The solution to this problem needs co-ordination between the government and the employers. Allowing flexible working hours and improving public transit system can help curb this issue dramatically. If employees are given an option to work from home, not only would this result in increased productivity, it will also reduce traffic density problem. According to a survey, it has been observed that employees who work from home are found to be more productive, as there are less distractions, and they are able to maintain a healthy balance between their work and personal life. Therefore, while the urban population is experiencing a decline in their quality of life, mainly because of stressful jobs, a little support from the government and the employers can effectively address this problem.