The purpose of this thesis

The purpose of this thesis is to provide an insight into quantitative risk management through the introduction of the two risk measures, Value at Risk and Expected Shortfall by estimating these with GARCH, Semi-GARCH, and Volatility Weighted Historical Simulation. The theoretical background gives a basic understanding of risk management and risk measures for financial institutions. The development of Basel Accords can be regarded as a standard for bank’s trading portfolios by determining capital requirements. To effectively manage the market risks, it is extremely important to estimate the risk measures. The most commonly reported risk measure is Value at Risk, which is defined as the maximum expected loss of a portfolio over a defined time horizon with a given confidence level. However, VaR fails to capture tail risk and is not a coherent measure of risk due to its non-sub-additive character. The Expected Shortfall, on the other hand, satisfies this property and thus is a coherent risk measure. It is now widely used in quantitative risk management. Besides, the ES provides an average of the losses that exceed the VaR, that means it indicates a better property than VaR with respect to tail risk. Moreover, this thesis compares the forecasting ability of different models in estimating VaR and ES, whereby modelling of GARCH, Semi-GARCH and VWHS are investigated. These models represent the most important tools in the quantitative risk management for financial institutions. With the advancement of quantitative risk models for the analysis of financial time series, the risk managers could get potential opportunities to understand and study the structure as well as the behaviour of financial markets. The progress of each model and the procedure to estimate risk measures were introduced and then applied in the empirical section. In terms of forecasting risk measures, an accurate model should be evaluated by Backtesting. This is a method of testing risk models by providing probabilities about the extent to which the calculated forecasts match the actual losses. The results of Backtesting therefore might indicate possible problems and support risk managers in making decision as well as planning strategies. In conclusion, after presenting the different ways modeling risks and empirical analysis using various financial datasets, it is important to highlight that the Semi-GARCH model generates the best predictive performance in comparison, with GARCH and VWHS models also performing well.