The process of formation and development of gender roles

These roles of gender play an important role in individual identity. Most youngsters start showing their personal identity at around 2 to 3 years of aged. Through the utilization of toys and clothing, children are socialized into their “appropriate” gender. Children use not only foster the norms of gender behavior and appearance, but also construct gender roles in their young minds. It was found that parents rated the most appropriate behaviours for girls as playing with dolls, dressing in pink. For boys the more appropriate behaviour was physical activities such as playing with the blocks, wearing in blue. In addition, the way parents talk also partly affects their children. Moreover, it is not acceptable for males to show too much emotion and cry, females should submissive and weak. If sons show just a little of our emotions, society will automatically look down on them as weak, gay. Young people are greatly concious of the stereotypes that are applied to gender by this age. There are numerous ways in which it is said that children learn and develop gender roles such as through socialisation with parents, peers. Parents’ roles inside and outside the family also influence children’s conception of gender roles. They are more protective of their daughters and give their sons more independent. Girls is expected to remain at home and carry out all the household duties. It was a taboo to have men carry out these duties given the status which they were granted in societies. Another important way in which children learn about gender is through their interactions with peers. During early childhood, children prefer to play with peers who share similar interests or who they believe share those interests, and thus are more likely to be socialized by their same gender peers. For example, children learn about gender stereotypes through their peers’ direct comments: long hair is for girls while short hair is for boys. Likewise My parents always treat me an my brother different. We are 27 months apart and he is aloud to go anywhere, with who ever whenever. He has been able to do that since he was younger than what I am now