It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Do the advantages of having a year off outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, there is an increasing number of students taking a gap year. While some people oppose having a year off after finishing high school due to its disadvantage, I firmly believe that the pros prevail over the cons. There are many reasons why people object to taking a gap year. The first thing that should be mentioned is that students can fall behind their friends. Taking a year off to do what they want may make them forget what they learned. Therefore, when coming back to study, in addition to learning new things, students have to take a lot of time to revise the old ones, whereas, their friends have passed on it. Secondly, taking a gap year costs a large amount of money by wasting on vacations. That can lead to their work hard to make ends meet when the year off is over. In contrast, I am of the opinion that these benefits far outweigh the downsides. One of the biggest advantages of taking a gap year is that it is a good time for students to travel or self-study to learn new things. Through traveling, especially visiting foreign countries, students can get access to a wide range of fantasies like brand-new culture, longstanding tradition, and mythical taboos. That broadens their knowledge with no longer holding prejudge to others’ different cultures and traditions. Another key point is that students can improve vital skills for their future jobs through reality experience. In fact, students can spend their gap years working or taking part in social activities such as raising funds and volunteering. In this way, students can impress their prospective employers based on their experience and abilities to work effectively get the highest productivity. In addition, they can expand their social network by making more friends, who may become their potential business partners. In conclusion, despite some negative aspects, it seems to me that the benefits of a gap year are more significant for the reasons mentioned.