the population of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society.

In modern society, the population aging has emerged as a global phenomenon resulting from the increasing of life expectancy. While an aging population may hurt the economy, I personal believe that this trend have positive effects on society for improving social cohesion. On the one hand, it is widely known that most of the medical needs and costs occur in the later of the life. Therefore pensioners are keen on saving money in case of diseases rather than consuming, leading to a reduction of consumer demands. If the demands decline constantly, the supplies will decrease, as well as outputs, which can do harm to the economy. Take Japan for instance, Japan is leading the world in aging demographics, and its economy has became slowdown due to the decline of the whole society demands. On the another hand, the older generation can improve our empathy abilities and sense of belonging in the society, helping us stick together. Since senior citizens are generally rich in life experiences, they can impact their different thoughts to us. When we are exposed to the different thoughts, we will aware that such differences are norm and respect them, thus learning to stand in other person's shoes. This progress can cultivate our empathy, which contribute to social skills. When we treat others empathetically, they are likely to relate to us, which can improve our sense of belonging in the society. If people have a strong sense of belonging in a society, they would be willing to cooperate with each other to make the society a batter place, improving social cohesion. In conclusion, the elderly can help us cultivate empathy, and improve our sense of social belonging, thus uniting the whole society more closely. These can not be bought in other manners although an aging population may affect the economy.