The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing shortage of resources like water, food and fuel. To what consequences may overpopulation lead? In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

It is irrefutable that the global population has grown drastically since the last few decades. This increase in the population leads to overutilization of resources due to which they are depleting continuously. In this essay, I will discuss the consequences of overpopulation and suggest some measures to combat this situation. Overpopulation poses a major threat to our environment. The reason is that for feeding such a huge number of people, forest areas are being cleared up for agricultural land, leading to a huge impact on the wildlife inhabiting in that area. For instance, a number of bird species are on a verge of extinction or being extinct due to loss of habitat. Another repercussion is overburdening of medical systems as it would be complicated to proper health facilities to such an immense public. For example, overpopulation is the reason behind shortage of hospital beds in India, as a result of which many poor people die due to lack of proper medical care. There are numerous measures which could be taken by governments to tackle this issue. First of all, sex education should be provided to all the citizens. In other words, awareness campaigns should be initiated, so that the illiterate and ignorant folks would be aware regarding birth control methods, reproductive health and benefits of smaller families. Secondly, the authorities should urge the public to have one child, for instance, in 1980, one child policy was implemented by China to address its high rate of population. In conclusion, although the problem of overpopulation is insurmountable, it is the responsibility of government to take steps to tackle it. In my view, actions such as strict child policies and sex education can contribute constructively to fight with this huge problem