Many people believe that hierarchy developed on basis of caste followed since thousand of years is the right way to run the society. Up

The caste system which is based on hierarchy has been well established for thousands of years. There are schools of thought that believe this system is still relevant today and would be the ideal way to run society. I disagree with this notion as I believe the caste system brings more harm than good. This is primarily due to the potential for discriminatory practices and economic consequences. First off, by establishing a hierarchy based on an individual’s birth status, certain groups of people will be unfairly discriminated against. For instance in India, individuals born to a lower caste are given fewer opportunities in education and career development. This in turn limits their social mobility and perpetuates a vicious cycle of poverty and discrimination against these individuals. It is clear by practicing the caste system, individuals on the lower sections of the hierarchy would suffer greatly. Moreover, by establishing a hierarchy based on caste, the economic competitiveness of a society may also be compromised. A well known example of this is the pattern of poverty in certain states in India. A report published by the Indian government showed poverty were lower in states that do not practice the caste system than those that do. A possible explanation for this is by eliminating the caste system, the social mobility of a population would improve and merit instead of birth status would be primary determining factor for success. Hence by doing away with the caste system, the economic growth of a nation would benefit. In conclusion, the hierarchy developed on the basis of caste brings more harm than good to modern society. I would recommend that this archaic practice be phased out to make way for more meritocratic systems to take hold.