In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

In recent years, a great number of online courses are available for adults. It has been accepted to beneficial for some of the students, whereas, others think that it has disadvantages also. Online courses has a number of advantages. First of all, it is convenient for people and can be learned at their own pace. Without any disturbance of any work, anyone who wants to do online course can easily be involved in it. Secondly, some courses offer free of cost which is a great opportunity for students who can not able to pay that particular courses offline. For example, in my personal experience, my husband do a professional online course which is given free to some selected people who live in developing countries. This course fee was so expensive that it would not be completed if this was in offline. However, this type of courses has also some drawbacks. Firstly, technology may be not available in some areas, so, students of this region can not get its benefits. In addition, students may not comfortable using this type of learning as computer is required for this learning. Secondly, face to face education involving shareing, group discussion which improves students working capacity in a team which is not possible in online learning. Finally, tutors can not connected properly with students individually which is only possible in classroom. In conclusion, learning by internet has both advantages and disadvantages. This opportunity has been accepted warmly for some students whereas others find it not effective than classroom teaching.