Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your ow

In the contemporary society, learning a second language is a norm. The only reason one would learn more than one language would be to travel. However, I opine that there could be myriad reasons to be multilingual. The below essay will discuss the other reasons with relevant examples. It is understandable, why would someone intend to learn a new language. Due to globalization, it is imperative for individuals to have good communication skills. Furthermore, being multilingual could potentially increase once chances to secure a job in the global village. Traveling would also become much convenient, as many students plan to perceive higher education abroad. It is pivotal to know more than one language. For instance, many English speaking countries, only allow students with good and fluent English. Thereby, they have to prove their language proficiency. Nevertheless, traveling and working aren't the only reason one would want to learn a new language. There are myriad other reasons to this phenomenon. Language is verbal expression of culture, many learn the particular language to know the culture behind it. For instance, Sanskrit is a long forgotten language, However, there is a growing demand of people who are ready to embark on learning the language. They believe that by learning this language, they can know the long forgotten culture behind it. Furthermore, every language has its own idioms and nuances that can only be learn by acknowledging the culture behind it. For instance, Punjabi is spoken by many in Punjab and Pakistan. Moreover, the different nuances of the language can only be learnt, by staying with the people and knowing its various words. To sum up, traveling and securing a job is indubitably the most important reason one would embark on learning a new language. However, language has much deeper impact in our society, than the superficial reason we intend to learn it for. Votes