The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? pkdm

In today’s world internet companies and organizations such as Instagram and Yahoo tend to store their users’ secret personal information. Even though it could be beneficial in some ways but I strongly believe that it could have detrimental impacts on people. It is safe to say that holding such information helps internet firms to detect individuals’ interests and accordingly show them some useful products and services. Therefore, users of these companies can effortlessly find some desired products. For example, Amazon which is a multinational tech company, follows the same trend. When people search for some gadgets on this website, on their next visits, it offers them the latest devices based on the information that this site has collected. So that visitors may find a useful piece of tech and possibly buy it. In addition, a social networking service such as Instagram is able to improve its services by using personal information and comments of its users in order to provide better features. Thanks to this information, Instagram has added lots of cool features that surely can satisfy all types of age groups. However, a grave risk threatens arguably both people and international companies when it comes to collecting confidential and personal data and information. If internet firms and organizations reveal such information it can have adverse impacts on their users. In some cases, the damages cannot be undone. Take Sony filmmaking company for example. Some years ago some critically important emails of its workers particularly its directors were leaked by Yahoo. As a result, some of them were fired because of their negative comments on the company’s policy, also, the company’s value had dropped drastically. In my opinion, just one severe disadvantage can easily outweigh all the advantages.