Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world.

Due to various reasons such as the shortage of some specific foods or rising demand for eating fruits and vegetables because of the population growth, many countries have imported foods from foreign countries. Although this trend can have positive aspects, I believe that the food trade has major negative impacts which could be irreversible. First and foremost, international food trade has hidden environmental costs and plays a critical role in global warming. Importing food from other parts of the world increase the emission of carbon dioxide significantly as it is transported by planes or ships. Carbon dioxide is a primary source of greenhouse gas which can directly impact global warming. Consequently, it could have inevitable effects such as rising the level of the sea or the loss of biodiversity of both creatures and plants. For example, UK health professions want to impose a huge tax on foods which are imported by airplanes because of its negative effects on global warming and climate change. Secondly, unlike other goods, foods and fruits are perishable and could be spoiled or suffered during long-distance transport. Moreover, they may be picked too soon when they are less ripe and as a result, they do not reach their full nutritional potential which includes minerals and vitamins. For instance, the researches were conducted at the University of California show that the level of vitamin C would decline considerably due to shipping. On the other hand, the chief advantage of importing foods and fruits is the increased availability and variety of fresh products. Particularly in countries which do not have the opportunity to grow some fruits and vegetables because of the geographical situations. Take Sweden as an example, because of the extreme cold weather in this country they could not cultivate many kinds of fruits so they import fruits and vegetables from Spain. In conclusion, global food trade has become highly popular in the last decade to provide the demand of the customer, but in my opinion its drawback outweigh its benefits.