The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

A large number of health problems have occurred due to obesity over the recent decade. Thus, a growing number of people have become obese and the life of these people is at risk. This essay will shed light on potential reasons for this trend including increasing consumption of fast food and sedentary lifestyle and also suggest some executive solutions to tackle this issue. To start, the reasons behind obesity should be explored. The first thing that comes to mind is when you think about reason of obesity is taking a large section of unhealthy food in daily diet. Unhealthy foods are defined as any food or drink which has a large amount of calories, fat and sugar. If overeating these foods combines with laziness, it will lead to obesity. Another reason for obesity which scientists have discovered is that it can be due to the body’s metabolism and genetic defect. For some people, their bodies turn food into energy slowly, thus the calories stored in their bodies and they become obese as time goes by. However, despite the severity of the obesity problem, there are a number of ways in which countries can tackle it more effectively. Firstly, governments can put far more pressure on fast food restaurants to provide healthy alternatives to hamburgers, French fries and soft drinks. Secondly, public exercise initiatives can be advertised and promoted far more fiercely. Lastly, programs that inform people about healthy dietary requirements can be taught at television and social media. To conclude, obesity is a growing problem in the world, mainly caused by eating fast food, lack of physical activity and genetic defect which are not insurmountable. This issue can be prevented and treated by healthy eating habits and physical exercises.