The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

In recent years, there is a vast growth in number of cars people are using as a means of transportation. Studies reveals that after the century of introduction of car, the number of cars rose dramatically to 29. The argument regarding car foreign car policy and use of alternative transports have sparked a heated debate. On the one hand, there are various benefit of private vehicles. It saves time, convenient and luxurious. However, the sudden increase of air pollution through the smoke emitted by cars is major cause of degradation of environment. The alternative vehicle, in fact, possess several merits. For instance, use of bicycle instead of cars are beneficial for our environment also it does not consume any kind of fuel. Moreover, alternative means of transportation also help in reducing the exploitation of non renewable resources. Cities which have river or lake can introduce boats and ships whereas use of public transportation such as trains or buses should be encouraged. This can potentially decrease pollution and traffic congestion. On the other hand, strong policies by government will also help in use of less number of cars. Introduction of worldwide laws and policy reduce the number of cars. For example, the price of cars have been decreased throughout the past few years which makes customer to own it easily. If government impose the high tax in cars, there will be increase in price of cars. This will eventually, control the number of cars. To sum up, different methods were applied in order to minimize the plethora of cars in Britain. Perhaps, finding another sources of transports and imposing strict policy would help to control the number of cars.