The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The majority of society nowadays tends to upload their personal information on social media without taking into account that these data are actually held by the internet These companies and firms. Although there are several advantages to this system, on the contrary, the drawbacks are ought to be heavier. Social media has assisted individuals to store essential files without fear of crashing those credentials. Individuals now can upload any file on Facebook and lock them into private settings consequently that people cannot get access to those files or end up being crashed by viruses. On the contrary, files stored on a computer hard-disk if crashed by viruses then may amount to permanent loss. In addition, another benefit is that social media apps are password protected and free. Meanwhile, if saved in a computer-locked application, people have to pay for it, whereas, saving confidential files on a social platform is comparatively safe and free. For example, my brother had stored an important document for presentation, later, he found the documents were crashed by computer viruses, therefore lost the credential never to retrieve them. On the other hand, data that is secured by a password in an internet application is prone to get leaked. Although storing data on the internet is easier and cost-efficient, private information can easily be leaked by expert hackers. For example, a lot of times celebrity nudes were exposed to various social apps by hacking their accounts. Then again, the issue that everything file uploaded and later deleted in social platforms is never actually gone. Meaning the internet organization always retains a copy of all the personal information or data that has been uploaded and then deleted. Therefore, it is never permanently gone. In conclusion, uploading, and sharing files are ought to be more harmful than beneficial. In my opinion, it is better not to share files with internet organizations as it might be prone to leakage or never deleted permanently.