The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The majority of people nowadays tend to upload their personal information on social media without taking into account that these data are actually held by internet companies and firms. There are many advantages to this system, but the disadvantages are ought to be heavier. Social media has helped people to store important files without fear of crashing those credentials. People now can upload any file on Facebook and lock them to private settings so that people cannot get access to those files or end up being crashed by viruses. On the contrary, files saved on a computer hard-disk may crash and get lost forever. Another benefit is that social media apps are password protected and free. Meanwhile, if a person wants to save a file in a locked application on their computer, they have to pay for that application, whereas, saving confidential files on a social platform is comparatively safe and free. For example, it is easier to hack a computer password than to hack social media passwords. On the other hand, data that is secured by a password in an internet application is prone to get leaked. Although storing data on the internet is easier and cost-efficient, private information can easily be leaked by expert hackers. For example, a lot of times celebrity nudes were exposed to various social apps by hacking their accounts. Then again, the issue that everything file uploaded and later deleted in social platforms is never actually gone. Meaning the internet organization always keeps a copy of all the personal information or data that has been uploaded and then deleted. Therefore, it is never permanently gone. In conclusion, this essay discussed why uploading and sharing files are ought to be more harmful than beneficial. In my opinion, it is better not to share files with internet organizations as it might be prone to leakage or never deleted permenantly.