The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

There is no doubt that the problem of obesity is becoming worse and worse and it is having an impact on more and more people. In the last ten years, obesity rates have rocketed almost by 20%, and the problem is now epidemic mostly in western world. This essay will look into the main causes and effects of this above expressed problem. The most effective in dealing with this situation is, first of all, through turning an urgent attention to the underlining causes of the problem. Obviously, the predominant cause which bring about current concern is that we are consuming too much fast food in our daily life such as high-carbohydrate, high-fat burgers and pizza in fast food restaurants. A clear solution to this would be to government to increase the rate of taxes in this kind of low vitamin foods otherwise we can face a lot more health risks. Steps should also be taken to overcome the problem by fighting against the individuals less active which originates this irresolvable situation. More and more people are becoming less active due to the high cost of exercising in local gyms. To illustrate, to take Uzbekistan for example our local gyms the minimum cost of attending gyms is 100 and 150 sums per month. It is very high for ordinary people to attend. The responsibility should fall to the government also in individuals to decrease costs of gyms affordable for ordinary people. As a result of such actions we can decrease significantly individuals’ overweight problems. In conclusion, there are several measures which could be undertaken to improve obesity rates. If the efforts are implemented at a right time the situation would be eased appreciably.